MapTiler to create online maps II

In an earlier post I wrote how I created a mash-up map with MapTiler. There is an option in MapTiler to set transparency for a color, but this didn’t work for me at the time. I therefore created a small script to convert the background color to transparent and to process all PNG tiles generated by MapTiler using the PNGNQ utility.

I am working on a new online map and this time setting the background color to transparent in MapTiler works like a charm. I wonder whether this is because the function only works on indexed images and for some reason I did not get indexed images after exporting the raster file last time.

Like last time, I exported my GRASS raster layer as a georeferenced tiff file using the r.out.tiff function. The NODATA / background color was white. So after opening the tiff file in MapTiler, I simply marked white as transparent (second screen of the MapTiler wizard, see image below).

The second screen of the wizard interface of MapTiler. Here you can set a specific color to transparent.

The rest of the steps are fairly obvious, just follow the steps of the MapTiler wizard. See this mash-up map of the Potential Vegetation map of Ethiopia on my ecodiv.org site for the results.

About pvanb

I am a tropical forest ecologist with a focus on spatial and temporal patterns and processes at population and ecosystem level. I am furthermore very interested in issues related to conservation and sustainable use of biodiversity and natural resources under current and future climates. I have worked in the Middle East (Syria and Lebanon) and South America (Brazil) and in Eastern Africa (Kenya).
This entry was posted in Data handling, GRASS GIS, online mapping, vegetation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to MapTiler to create online maps II

  1. Pingback: MapTiler to create online maps « Ecostudies

  2. Pingback: From multiple rasters to one Google earth layer | Ecostudies

Leave a Reply

